Country 105

Country 105

Agriculture Report

Mixed Views about Food Act Amendments

By Kevin Bernard

PC MPP happy with tax break but feels Liberals missed out in the classroom.

Length: 1:03

The Progressive Conservative MPP For Huron-Bruce is happy with amendments to the province's Local Food Act -- but only to a point.

An addition to the legislation proposed by Sarnia-Lambton Tory MPP Bob Bailey will see farmers receive a 25 per-cent tax credit for leftover food they donate to local food banks.

But Thompson is not happy that another amendment calling for food education in schools was voted down.

The amendment proposed by Oxford MPP and former Agriculture Minister Ernie Hardeman would have seen food education added to both the elementary and secondary curricula.

Thompson believes the Wynne government missed an opportunity through the food education course to tell students about job opportunities in the agri-food processing sector.

The amendment was lost on a combined vote of the Liberal government and the New Democrats.

Thompson credits the amendment proclaiming Local Food Week in June as a good idea -- but says it's ironic in that it's intended to teach kids about where food comes from.

Local Food Week was originally to have run at the same time as Agriculture Week in October.


The 4-H Dairy Show was held over two days this week at the Royal Winter Fair in Toronto.

350 4-H members from all over Eastern Canada are competing in the 2 day event.
Joseph Kapetyn of the Wiarton 4-H Dairy Calf club placed  21st of 104 contestants in Junior Showmanship.
Serena Lamont of Bruce County was 9th and Emily Franken of Teeswater, 23rd, with 128 intermediate showmen.
And in the Senior showmanship class, with 134 competitiors, Adrian Franken of Teeswater was 18th, Colin Meulendyk of Badjeros was 18th, Cole Hollands of Grey was 21st, Linda Franken of Teeswater 22nd and Nikki Alsop of Singhampton was 28th.    


The Provincial "Go For the Gold" Quiz bowl competition was held at the Royal Winter Fair.
Huron County are the provincial champions.

The team members are Kate Higgins, Melissa Higgins, Reba Jefferson, Jeanette Schraam, and Jolanda Oudshoorn.
They defeated the 2012 Champions from Halton Region to take the banner.




Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2018 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc